New Internship- Week 1

Today marked the completion of my first week at my new part-time, unpaid internship. I’m not going to list its name, not because I’ve had a bad experience, but because I found, unsurprisingly, that it has Google alerts set up to track the mention of its name, and I’d like to avoid the notoriety.

I know an unpaid, part-time internship, not to mention the 75 minute commute sounds pretty lame,  especially for someone who’s a college graduate with plenty of internship experience to boot, but I’ve enjoyed the past week immensely. With all of the experience that I did bring to the table with me, it’s been the first real agency experience under my belt.

By part-time I mean I work three times a week (M,W,F), and each of those days has been different and interesting at the same time. Because it’s a smaller agency atmosphere, I’ve seen the whole gamut of running a successful agency play out in front of me.

A lot of my responsibility has been surrounded by research and compilation of media hits and lists. I expected as much entering this internship, but the analytical tools behind it, that interprets the data is fascinating to me. The clients that I’m able to work with; the publication they’re mentioned in are top notch, and it’s so cool to be part of the behind the scenes process.

Something I didn’t expect was the realization of how much I didn’t know, or didn’t realize the intricacy of. I had a thorough, or so I thought grasp on the process, but working for multi-million dollar clients is quite different then where the majority of my experience came from- non profits. Not to say that one is better then another, just different.

Anyway other then a great first week, the women who work there (yes, I’m the only guy… ladies here I come) are just as nice and personable and welcoming as can be.

I can’t wait to see what future weeks hold in store, knowing that there’s so much more to learn and more responsibility to come. One last thing. In addition to this internship, I was also hired on by Internships.com as a paid intern, where my primary responsibility will have to deal with research- something that I’m very eager to undertake. Can’t wait to bring you along for the ride.

About Tennis & Travel YoPRo

PR YoPRo l Christian l Job Seeker l Tennis Zealot l Food Lover l Outdoor Enthusiast l Gym Freak l Story Teller l Board Gamer l Nomad l Shoulder 2 cry on l View all posts by Tennis & Travel YoPRo

Leave a Reply

