Balance Moving Forward

The morning started off the same way it does every week day. I got up. Feed the dog. Took him out to do his business. Got dress, and finally headed out the door and off to the same parking lot I park at every day. As I was heading to the office, I spotted the SVP. He parks at the next lot over ($3.50 vs. $5/ day) which I found refreshing. Most of my co-workers park much closer and pay much more per day.

I finally caught up to him at one of the crosswalks. Before this morning, we’ve exchanged mere pleasantries, but that’s about it. At this point he was sort of forced to talked to me as we were heading to the same destination. I expected the conversation to be shallow; weather, commute, etc. And while we touched on each of those areas, he also shared some words of wisdom regarding his mentality of life versus work.

He shared about how some of his colleagues who all started at the same time as he did – devoted their lives to their work and while they are no further up the ladder then he is, they’re zombies (my words, not his). He was able to prioritize his ideals – putting family and his physical wellbeing above the grind.

As someone new to this environment, I try and absorb all of the edifying advice that I can. To quote David Frost, “don’t aim for success; just do what you love and believe in, and it will come naturally.”

This whole interaction was less then 10 minutes, but it shows how random acts can have a significant impact on others.

I hope I remember this for when I’m an SVP.

About Tennis & Travel YoPRo

PR YoPRo l Christian l Job Seeker l Tennis Zealot l Food Lover l Outdoor Enthusiast l Gym Freak l Story Teller l Board Gamer l Nomad l Shoulder 2 cry on l View all posts by Tennis & Travel YoPRo

Leave a Reply

